Nanowing away

November 11, 2007 at 8:03 pm (Writing) ()

Yep, I’m a nanower. It’s my first time this year, and I’m not at all on target. Pop over here to find out just how far behind I actually am…

Busy as my November is, I never expected to get 50,000 words out of the experience, but I think that I’m writing more than I would have done without the incentive of attempting to reach that goal. I’d much rather get to 30th November with 10,000 words that could be the seeds of a novel than 50,000 words that will lie forgotten at the bottom of a desk drawer.

I think that the root of my lack of speed is that I tend to edit before any words actually hit the page. I sit and mull over each sentence in my head before committing it to paper/the screen, meaning that I’m quite chuffed if my wordcount hits 1,000 in any given evening. That’s not to say that those 1,000 words are perfect mini works of genius, requiring not a jot of editing, of course, but speed really isn’t my strongest asset!

2 Comments

  1. Kerry said,

    I was considering doing it this year, but November really crept up on me somehow! I’d be interested to see how you get on – you never know, I might be joining you next time…

  2. inkandkeys said,

    I’ll make sure to keep you updated on my very slow progress!

Leave a Reply

