My new favourite bookshop

November 19, 2007 at 9:30 pm (Reading, Seeing) (, , , )

Currently, I am mostly in love with Daunt Books on Marylebone High Street.

It’s fairly close to where I work so I’ve been popping in and adoring the fantastic interior, which really gives it a fantastic atmosphere.

When I needed a guidebook for Prague last week, I thought “I know – Daunt Books!”  and off I trotted.   What I didn’t realise is that Daunt Books, along with a gorgeous spread of fiction and literary non-fiction, is specifically designed with travellers in mind.  Not only does it have a comprehensive selection of guides for each country, but indigenous literature is shelved in the same section!  Had this not been the case, I probably would never have discovered Bohumil Hrabal, which would have been a damned shame.  Browsing the bookshop’s country by country section is like a fantastic little adventure.  I’ve never really thought “I think I need a novel by a Romanian author this week”, but it is definitely a refreshing way to choose literature.

1 Comment

  1. Clare said,

    Wow – that sounds like an awesome bookshop. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

