Reading this week

December 4, 2007 at 10:24 pm (Reading) (, , )

Well, last week technically, but I just had to write about this book!  The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay pretty much rocked my world.

I actually forgot that I was in a hotel room in Prague and thought that I would set foot outside into New York City as soon as I finished the chapter.  I’ve never read a comic book in my life, but the history and the allegories all made perfect sense as I read.  What really got me about this novel, though, was the character of Sammy Clay.  It frustrated me no end when Chabon focussed on Joe Kavalier for longer than a chapter – I wanted to get back to Sam!  Kavalier took precedence in both the title and the narrative, but it was Clay that made me laugh, cry, and punch pillows.  I ached for him to be happy.  I identified him with pretty much every guy in my life.  I couldn’t believe it when the novel ended.

3 Comments

  1. Vanessa said,

    I am so glad you love this book – it’s one of my favourite favourite favourites. I love it better than anything else Chabon has written. You feel ripped out of their world when the book is over. I have a first edition Stephen gave me which is a treasured book!

  2. readingideas said,

    You did a great job explaining this book, now I want to read it. I love getting lost in a book and also hate when a good one ends. I have never read a graphic novel either but with their popularity growing I feel the need to not let this genre pass me by. This book you are describing may be the one for me to start with. I look forward to finding a copy and diving in. Thank You.

  3. Kirsty said,

    Thanks, readingideas – I’m pleased that one more person is about to be converted to the cult of Kavalier and Clay! Let me know how you get on.

Leave a Reply

