What I don’t particularly love

January 9, 2008 at 7:44 pm (Reading) ()

I’ve just finished What I Loved by Siri Hustvedt.  Hmm.   I thought that I was going to adore it, but by mid-way through the novel I just wasn’t feeling it.  I think that the problem was that Hustvedt kept making her characters explain every darn thing.  It was a study in the human condition, but it was so studied that it refused to let the reader invest.  I could never identify with any of the characters, because they explained their thoughts and motivations in such detail before I could formulate my own thoughts about them and what was going on.  The prose was undeniably beautiful but I mainly felt that Hustvedt wanted to show her reader how clever and well-read she was.  It was boring.

Leave a Reply

