I’m such a book snob!

January 26, 2008 at 5:14 pm (Reading) (, )

I really am.  I’m reading a novel at the moment by Guillame Musso.  It’s okay, the concept is quite intriguing, but the writing is so prescriptive that I’m packing it in on the second chapter*.  As important character, plot, and concept are, it’s the writing that makes or breaks a book for me.   If the writer isn’t in love with language, then I’m not interested.

* I’ve recently made the decision not to struggle through books that I’m not enjoying.  There’s too many great books and too little time for that.

3 Comments

  1. WritingMinion said,

    But can it really be called Book Snobbery if you’re just not that into a book and trying to make time for the LOADS of other books out there? Besides, you read some pretty diverse books. I don’t really think its snobbery if a book just doesn’t do anything for you!

  2. Kirsty said,

    Yeah, you’re right. I just expect a hell of a lot from my literature!

  3. WritingMinion said,

    That’s true! I completely understand. There’s nothing more fustrating than picking up a book you had high hopes for and finding its just not quite there. I think you’ll like The Book Thief though!

Leave a Reply

