Dover Thrifty

August 30, 2008 at 6:04 pm (Reading) (, )

I got a bit too excited about Dover Thrift Editions this week.  This is one time when my unfortunately light wallet and my book greed nicely coincided.  For under a tenner, I got:

Great Short Stories by American Women – ed. Candace Ward

Five Great Short Stories – Anton Chekov

Electra – Sophocles

Goblin Market and Other Poems – Christina Rossetti

The Yellow Wallpaper and Other Stories – Charlotte Perkins Gilman

Quite a nice little haul, I think!  Having worked in publishing for a year now, mainly reading new books and manuscripts, I had a hankering for some old school literature.  Going from a Medieval Literature PhD to a commercial publisher was quite a change and I revelled in the newness, but I think that I need to start mixing it up again.  I do find that my reading tastes go in cycles, and that one book makes suggestions for the next – who knows where these will take me?

Leave a Reply

