Dum de dum

September 7, 2008 at 11:20 am (Publishing, Reading, Writing) (, , )

I don’t have a whole lot to say on the reading/writing/publishing front at the moment, but I really have to get into the habit of posting more regularly, so here’s this week’s splurgings.

Publishing: I have been ludicrously busy at work.  Ludicrously.  And I know that it’s not going to stop until Christmas.  This makes me feel tired but not defeated.  In more exciting news, I met John le Carre this week.  He’s nice.  He’s friends with Tom Stoppard.

Reading: Well, I tried to read the new John le Carre, but I just couldn’t get into it.  I was reading an early proof, so maybe the finished novel is more compelling; I’ve got too much on my to-read list to give it any time, though.  Instead, I’m reading Kafka on the Shore by Murakami.  It took me a while to decide I liked it, but I do.  I’ve been told that Norwegian Wood is the one that changes everybodies’ lives, so maybe I’ll pick that up next.  Not that I want my life to be particularly changed, but I do need some writing inspiration; which leads me on to…

Writing: Ha.  What is this writing of which you speak?  It’s not going so well.  I’ve got a couple of story ideas, hampered by a complete lack of drive.  I do have some short story collections to read, though, so hopefully they’ll inspire me out of my funk.  I’ve been knitting a lot recently, so maybe I need to dedicate some word time.

3 Comments

  1. Line Larsen said,

    I had my first visit to your blog today and quickly decided to add you to my blog roll. I enjoyed my stay here.

    I can’t read John le Carre either, so don’t sweat it. And whenever I am stuck writing, I read to blow life into my passion again. Good or bad, it doesn’t matter, as long as it’s close to my genre.

    I wish you the best of luck with both work and writing 🙂

  2. WritingMinion said,

    I’m just about done with the new le Carre….it doesn’t pick up much. Its good, its just not what I was expecting. It leaves a lot of things up in the air, but I’m ok with that. I’m not sure I’d read another though…I’m moving onto a book about the Salem Witch Trials, because really, why not.

    Writing wise, I’m doing good. I’m 144 pages into a horrible project. I hate every word, but I’m immensely proud that I’ve stuck with it. Just a bit longer and then I’ll be done and can revise and who knows. I go from periods of loathing to liking and I’m finding that this is just the way I am about my writing. Its not a fabulous way to be, but at least I’m persevering.

    I heart your blog and am glad to see some new posts!

  3. Kirsty said,

    Go you! I don’t think I’ve ever written 144 pages before – that’s pretty amazing.

Leave a Reply

