Total relaxation

September 21, 2008 at 12:13 pm (Reading) (, , , , , , , )

I’ve been on holiday in the Cotswolds this week, so I don’t have much to say about writing (it’s hard to write with seven other people in an idyllic log cabin – boo hoo!) or publishing (a whole shiny week off work!) but, of course, I’ve been reading.

I read a collection of Chekov’s short stories, which were all good individually; towards the end of the collection, though, the stories started feeling slightly repetitive, so I think they’re probably best dipped in and out of. I also read Loving Frank by Nancy Horan, which is a novel about the American architect Frank Lloyd Wright and Mamah Cheney, the feminist writer he had an affair with. It was beautifully written, but slightly relentless. It was based on fact, and Horan says that she adhered as closely to her sources as she could, which was really interesting – the ‘women as property’ pointed was hammered home a little too much for my liking. I know, as a twenty-first century woman, I’m incredibly lucky that gender equality has come so far and I do lose patience with the issue fairly quickly; I should have more time for the cause, but I’ve never felt that it’s affected me directly (naive, I know).

On my to-read list this week are Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s The Yellow Wallpaper and an introduction to philosophy. I’ll let you know how I get on.

3 Comments

  1. Line Larsen said,

    I am trying to get into short stories. Do you have an all-time favourite to recommend?

  2. Kym said,

    The Cotswolds…Ahh, we went there last year and it was amazing–even though we were there during some horrendous floods and actually spent part of the vacation stuffing sandbags and trying to save the place we were staying in.

    Contentment and calm radiate from the place like heat off sun baked rocks.

  3. inkandkeys said,

    Ooh, it’s got to be Dave Eggers’ How We Are Hungry. Definitely get yourself a copy.

Leave a Reply

