Harumph

October 7, 2008 at 9:40 pm (1)

I’m feeling a wee bit bummed out, career-wise.  I really like my job and I love working in publishing, but it’s time to take the next step and I’m worried about how I’m going to make it work.  Editorial is still where I want to be, but I can’t afford to start at the bottom again and take another admin job – I’m 26, I’m married, I want to make babies soon, I want a house, security, to get out of England for a week or so every year.  I’ve definitely got a case of wanting-it-all syndrome, I know, but I’ve got to face up to the fact that the career I want is incredibly competitive and not particularly well paid.  It’s not just the money thing, either – I’m fed up of starting at the bottom; admins do an important job, but I need to start progressing.

So, not that I’m giving up on the editorial dream, but what are my other options?  I think I’ll look into bookshops, for a start.  Maybe charity (not volunteer, silly!) work that involves books or literature.  I could head back to my academic roots, either publishing or teaching based.

I’m not going to think about it until the New Year, though.  I’ve got nanowrimo and Christmas to get through first!

12 Comments

  1. WritingMinion said,

    I think waiting until the New Year is smart. I hear you about starting at the admin bottom again (ugh!). One day we’ll get there. See how nanowrimo goes! Who knows, tihs time next year you could have a novel done and published!

  2. Kirsty said,

    Gosh, that’s optimistic! I’ll keep it in mind, though 🙂

  3. WritingMinion said,

    Not optimistic! Its realistic even say you write really slow– if you wrote a page a day over 365 days– you’d get a book! It might not be very good, but it would be a book– from there you can fix and move forward. I’m trying out positive thinking, which is sort of makes me ill. Also, I am hoping its true as I’m 180 pages into my project and am not sure where the plot has gone (ugh!). Back to my outline.

  4. Kirsty said,

    That is very true – a page a day could become a novel very soon. As we know, though, the publishing process takes a wee while. It’s a good job that we’ve got the inside scoop!

    I’m very intrigued about your current project…

  5. Emily said,

    I know how you feel (apart from the babies part). I am desperatly sick of my job and being overlooked, but do I give up on law and start again from scratch, or do I work my way up within the profession.

    My dream is to own a bookshop with a cafe within it. I want to spend my days baking cakes, brewing coffee and being surrounded by books. Hmmm… maybe I’ll win the lottery this weekend. I’ve seen the perfect empty shop.

  6. inkandkeys said,

    That’s exactly what I want too! A coffee shop with a bookshop in it where we’d have literary and music events. One day…

  7. Emily said,

    when I win the lottery I’ll set up a London branch and a Southampton one. Now all I need to do is buy the ticket and everything will be sorted.

  8. Line Larsen said,

    Oh! That is my dream as well. A coffee shop full of books, maybe some book signing or poetry reading,

    I found my dream job reading an article though (if I can’t be a publish author and live off of it, I mean). It’s people hired exclusively to introduce and push good children’s literature to kindergartens and preschools. Basically you travel around with an arsenal of books and do readings for the little ones, and introductions for the adults.

    Sharing my love of literature… Mmmm… Sounds so wonderful.

  9. Kirsty said,

    Sounds fabulous! Yay for books!

  10. Line Larsen said,

    If someone would just hire me doing that… 😉

  11. WritingMinion said,

    I love children’s books…!

  12. Clare said,

    I totally get where you’re coming from here, too. I’ve been really neglecting my creative writing of late, which is hardly the action of someone who in any serious way wants to be an author, is it now?! Hum.

    You should totally get that coffee and bookshop going, btw. I’d be there!

Leave a Reply

