Sorry, trees

November 5, 2008 at 11:44 am (Doing) (, , , )

I’m feeling pretty heinous about my paper consumption lately.  As a writer and a reader, I use a lot of paper – so many books, so many printed drafts.  I try to keep my printing to a minimum, editing on screen and printing double-sided, but I feel like a baddie every time I hit that print button.  Working in publishing and seeing the amount of paper that we get through is pretty scary, too, though my company is one of the best for implementing green policies and sourcing environmentally-friendly paper.  So, as I’m hardly going to stop reading or writing, I’ve been wondering what I can do.  The first step that I’ve come up with is not to send Christmas cards this year, but to buy something from Oxfam Unwrapped instead.  It’s not a big change, I grant you, but it’s a start.  I’m still doing well with my 2008 NY resolution not to use carrier bags, so I’ll definitely be adding some more green resolutions in 2009.  What do you suggest?  What gree nsteps have you been taking lately?

2 Comments

  1. WritingMinion said,

    I’ve been on a carrier bag diet as well– althought not as successfully as I’d like. I have cut my use of carrier bags significantly, but still find it difficult as i don’t have a car and can’t get the whole grocery shop into a canvas bag.

    I can’t bear the thought of giving up Christmas cards though. I thnk its because i live so far away from everyone that Christmas is the only time i sort of mass mail people. Its the one time of year people get a physical correspondence from me, which for some reason matters to me. Plus, i heart the cute designs!

  2. Kirsty said,

    That’s okay! Post is lovely, for sure.

Leave a Reply

