2009!

January 9, 2009 at 11:10 pm (Reading) (, , , )

For various reasons, but mainly because I’m anal, at the beginning of 2008 I started recording every book that I read in a notebook. My final tally for the year – 60 books. Not bad, but not great. I’m not setting myself a target for 2009, but I reckon that I can manage more than 60. Maybe 75? Anywho, I’ve kicked off to a flying start (got to love a mixed metaphor, baby), with three books in a week. Two of them were decidedly slim volumes, but they were legitimate books, so they count.

* Persepolis – Marjane Satrapi

* The Little Prince – Antoine de Saint Exupery

* Curious Men – Frank Buckland

I’m smugly patting my head and rubbing my stomach on account of my eclectic tastes and the fact that my husband and friend got me such great books for Christmas.

Sitting on the table, ready to have it’s spine cracked tomorrow is Twilight. I wouldn’t say that I’ve cracked, because I’ve never claimed to be actively avoiding the series, but my curiosity was piqued enough to accept the loan from my good friend Genn, so that I can see what all the fuss is about. I’m also a sucker for a feisty girl in love with a vampire.

3 Comments

  1. Lara said,

    I have recorded every book I’ve read since I was 16 in a notebook (which is quite anal) but it is really nice to look back because I can remember where I was when I read a few things. My mum does it too and it is great – I wish I’d done it from when I was younger because it would be a really nice record. I have to say i only read 16 books last year which was a real low. Someone who’s blog I read (other stories) read 52 which I thought was nice because it was a book a week but 60 books is fantastic! I’m also tempted by twilight – looking forward to seeing what you think.

  2. inkandkeys said,

    That’s really sweet, Lara – I wish that I’d been doing this since I was 16. I’m sure that I’d have to include some fairly appalling literary choices, though, so maybe it’s all for the best!

  3. writingminion said,

    I love The Little Prince.

    You are both impressive. I’ve been keeping a list since 2007– when i realized i was forgetting books I’d read. Very sad.

Leave a Reply

