Still undecided…

February 5, 2009 at 8:55 pm (Reading) (, )

I’ve just finished New Moon, so I think it’s safe to say that I’m going to stick it out and read the whole Twilight series.  One book is curiosity, two is in for the long haul, especially as there’s only two more installments left.  The weird thing is, I don’t like them.  I know that they’re YA, but that’s no excuse for the poor writing quality, obvious plots, and bad dialogue.  In fact, it’s insulting to both teenagers and authors to excuse them that way.  Edward is disgustingly condescending and Bella is just plain stupid.  So, why am I compelled to read the whole series?  I guess, firstly, annoying as they are, they’re easy tube-reading.  Secondly, well, I’m a total Buffy addict – what’s not to love about vampires and a girl in love with one.  Bella Swan is no Buffy Summers, for sure, but the comparison’s there.  Is that enough of an excuse?  Hmm…

4 Comments

  1. Adele said,

    Bella Swan isn’t even Buffy’s irritating kid sister. I read Twilight and gave up in disgust when James didn’t manage to finish of the useless wretch and her irritating bloodless vamp boyf. He was the only good thing in the whole book, and she didn’t explore him nearly enough.

  2. inkandkeys said,

    Ha ha! I’m glad I’m not the only ones who’s so annoyed with them both!

  3. writingminion said,

    If only the Volturri had killed Edward– or made him into their slave. I sort of think the books would be so much better without him….hmmmm….Clearly I am not the market for these books.

  4. xXDeadly.RoseXx said,

    Totally agree with what you said about the Twilight series. Don’t really understand why everyone is so obsessed with it. Yeah sure, vampires are cool and all but the writing is just absolutely HORRIBLE.
    Everyone that I know is, like, OBSESSED with it. I almost went deaf because some ‘fan-girls’ were screaming about Edward. Bloody hell. They need to get a life. And they seriously need to open their eyes and see how horrible the writing quality of the Twilight series is.
    Glad to know that there are still some sane people left in the world.

Leave a Reply

