Success and happiness

February 10, 2009 at 5:00 pm (1)

Come summer, it’ll have been five years since I graduated.  Five years.  Okay, so I spent the next three years after graduation at university as well, so I only technically left education two years ago, but there’s no getting away from the fact that I’m edging towards my late twenties and the optimism of university is becoming a nostalgic glow.  I’m not feeling the doom and gloom, though – we’re all still young and smart, we can still do anything that we put our minds to and some of my friends have been doing just that.  I have friends from my class with literary agents, with recording contracts, and a friend with a volume of poetry coming out in April (if verse is your thing, keep an eye out for Michael McKimm – he’s pretty darn good).

As for me, I’ve been in the publishing industry for nearly 18 months, I’ve got more words of a novel than I ever have before, and I’m about to start my own freelance copywriting business (more on that later).  It’s all looking rosy.  True, setting my heart on the arts means that there’s always going to be a money issue, but if piles o’ cash was my goal, I’d have chosen a different career path.  In this boring climate of economic downturn, I’m happy to have my job and my new business plans will hopefully provide the challenge I’ve been itching for.  I think that I’m recapturing a little bit of that undergrad optimism…

Leave a Reply

